What a Rap Music Video Can Teach You About Life

Miracle Mile Girls has moved. For further articles on film, music, interviews, and other thoughts, please visit MiracleMileGirlsOnline.com

I’ll be honest. I was never one for rap music, because it seemed to mostly be about bitches ‘n’ hoes, drugs, violence, and throwing dolla bills around.

Not these bitches and hose.

Not these bitches and hose.

When my beautiful friend, Alicja Kozlowska, told me she had played the lead girl in a rap video a couple years ago, my first reaction was (an internal) “oh, boy.”

Thankfully, I held my tongue long enough to actually listen to the song, ‘Determination’ by Bone Thugs N Harmony, and when I did, I realized I couldn’t have been more wrong.

Beautiful Alicja Kozlowska in Bone Thugs N Harmony 'Determination' (2010).

Alicja Kozlowska in Bone Thugs N Harmony ‘Determination’ (2010).

These are some of my favorite lyrics from the song…

You gotta be determined to bring this vision into your life bro’

If God has put something on your heart, it’s up to you to take the faith and bring this thing into reality

I mean you gotta be determined by all means necessary

You gotta bring the unseen to the scene.

I especially like the last line, about bringing the unseen to the scene. It describes so poetically what the mission of Miracle Mile Girls is all about – about trusting in your soul and actively creating your dream, from its inception as a thought in your mind to its manifestation in the physical world.

I believe that’s what we’re all meant to do on this earth: to bring forth into reality the seeds of hope that lie within each and every one of us.

Kudos to Bone Thugs N Harmony and Alicja for setting a good example!

If you liked this article, don’t hesitate to subscribe to my posts via email! Miracle Miles Girls is about figuring out the method to the madness of life – one post at a time – and inspiring others along the way.

Leave a Reply

